August 25, 2019, 05:01:20 PM
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Sorry, you must be logged in to use the shoutbox!

Click here if you
need van signs

Or here if you
need magnetic signs

DetectingScotland.com - Metal Detecting in Scotland, UK » Forum » Metal Detectors » Garrett » Wet and dry sand settings for Garrett AT Pro ?

Author Topic: Wet and dry sand settings for Garrett AT Pro ?  (Read 2358 times)

davy1234

Wet and dry sand settings for Garrett AT Pro ?
« on: January 10, 2016, 02:04:22 PM »
Hi All,

I'm a newb to metal detecting and after lengthy research I have ordered a
Garrett AT Pro.

Initially I'll be mostly doing beach detecting as I'm not too far away from
several beach areas. (may do land later to expand skills and experience)

Was wondering if I can pick any beach detectors brains who use the AT Pro,
and inquire  what settings you use for dry and wet beach ?

Any info greatly appreciated

David

budge1

• Dig Attendee
  • Exalted Poster
Re: Wet and dry sand settings for Garrett AT Pro ?
« Reply #1 on: January 10, 2016, 04:12:14 PM »
Found this on you tube for you, I think the AT Pro isn't the best for beach hunting but I only used it on the beach once and forgot to ground balance it. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DZq8iAXnWTE
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tpgnacYzkWU
« Last Edit: January 10, 2016, 04:17:02 PM by budge1 »
45%, Cheated not defeated.

davy1234

« Reply #2 on: January 10, 2016, 04:26:00 PM »
Budge1,

That link is a good help - actually tells the numbers/settings

Much obliged sir

whigsvolt

« Reply #3 on: January 10, 2016, 04:34:01 PM »
Hi Davy.
I think you would be better if you learned your craft on inland areas as opposed to the beach.
The beach can present all kinds of problems especially with a detector that is extremely sensitive and the fact that the beach is full of zillions of fragments of Aluminium and other tiny bits of non ferrous crap.