September 22, 2019, 09:58:23 PM
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Sorry, you must be logged in to use the shoutbox!

Click here if you
need van signs

Or here if you
need magnetic signs

DetectingScotland.com - Metal Detecting in Scotland, UK » Forum » Detecting Discussions » Eyes only finds » quern stone ?

Author Topic: quern stone ?  (Read 4896 times)

foundit

• Rising Member
quern stone ?
« on: February 29, 2016, 05:30:53 PM »
Out today in a biting wind, found two cartwheel pennys thats four in just over a week and some odds and sods.
This stone was sticking out of the side of a drainage ditch, im no expert but it looks like a quern stone, but is it ??? :) :)

Alan

chris3030

Re: quern stone ?
« Reply #1 on: February 29, 2016, 05:33:21 PM »
Mill stone??

Or maybe Barney rubbles spare  8)

I can't find one with the drive noch like yours but  a mill stone in my book. Definitely a good find 8)
« Last Edit: February 29, 2016, 05:42:44 PM by chris3030 »

TheJim

• Dig Attendee
  • Exalted Poster
  • Team Minelab
« Reply #2 on: February 29, 2016, 05:42:16 PM »
Great find mate  :) Think you should send a wee pic to TT
Alba Gu Bra'th

Sam

• Dig Attendee
  • Team Minelab! -On ‘Safari’
« Reply #3 on: February 29, 2016, 05:45:18 PM »
Yup, I'd say it was a quern stone for use by hand as it's quite small for a mill stone isn't it? ???. It seems to be made from soft sandstone, not ideal... Maybe a cheap one. Cheers for posting :)

chris3030

« Reply #4 on: February 29, 2016, 05:49:12 PM »
You probably already found this but  8)
quern (upper stone) with slot for handle
artefact

MANU unknown Amdernach Germany

Materials: lava, Andernach,
Dimensions: 0.35m (diameter)
Locality: Bar Hill fort, Twechar, Strathkelvin, Strathclyde, Scotland
Context: Bar Hill fort, AD 142-180 Roman, Antonine
References: PUBL MACDONALD,G. and PARK, A. 1906 p.89, fig.32, PUBL ROBERTSON, A., SCOTT, M. & KEPPIE, L. 1975 p.45, no.39