May 22, 2019, 06:07:04 PM
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Sorry, you must be logged in to use the shoutbox!

Click here if you
need van signs

Or here if you
need magnetic signs

DetectingScotland.com - Metal Detecting in Scotland, UK » Forum » Beginners' Section » Advice for Beginners » Keeping coins good

Author Topic: Keeping coins good  (Read 1458 times)

Wetony290515

Keeping coins good
« on: November 17, 2016, 12:51:54 PM »
Hi i am still very new to this hobby and was wondering if there was any good ways to keep coins good from the field until i get them home. The coins always look worse when i get them home. Has anybody got any tips or tricks to preserve them better ??
Garrett Ace 300i

Itsthemar

• Dig Attendee
  • Rising Member
  • 2015 - 33+ Hammered, 1 Dragonesque Brooch
Re: Keeping coins good
« Reply #1 on: November 17, 2016, 05:40:26 PM »
I keep an airtight box with a damp cloth in it, the cloth is great for cleaning finds on the field and if you want to keep anything decent until you get home then simply wrap it in the cloth and keep it in the tub.

Once I get home the objects usually always dry out and it if something like an old penny etc then it is bound to crumble on exposure to the air..... the joys of being in the ground for so long.
4 coin hoards.

Wetony290515

« Reply #2 on: November 17, 2016, 06:30:47 PM »
Thanks alot , thats what ill start doing, do you think that putting a coat of vaseline or something on them when i get them home would keep them in better condition ?
Garrett Ace 300i

Itsthemar

• Dig Attendee
  • Rising Member
  • 2015 - 33+ Hammered, 1 Dragonesque Brooch
« Reply #3 on: November 17, 2016, 06:41:31 PM »
I know you can get something called renaissance wax..... I'm sure others in the forum can give you more info as I don't coat my finds with anything. I did however use Vaseline years ago to bring out the details on badly corroded coins.
Obviously it should only be used on non significant finds.